»
S
I
D
E
B
A
R
«
Waiting on Wednesday (14): CRASH INTO YOU by Katie McGarry
August 21st, 2013 by Liza Wiemer

Waiting on Wednesday (14):

17233800CRASH INTO YOU (Pushing the Limits #3)

by Katie McGarry

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Pub. Date:  November 26, 2013

Pages: 474

 

From Goodreads:

From acclaimed author Katie McGarry comes an explosive new tale of a good girl with a reckless Katie McGarrystreak, a street-smart guy with nothing to lose, and a romance forged in the fast lane

The girl with straight As, designer clothes and the perfect life-that’s who people expect Rachel Young to be. So the private-school junior keeps secrets from her wealthy parents and overbearing brothers…and she’s just added two more to the list. One involves racing strangers down dark country roads in her Mustang GT. The other? Seventeen-year-old Isaiah Walker-a guy she has no business even talking to. But when the foster kid with the tattoos and intense gray eyes comes to her rescue, she can’t get him out of her mind.

Isaiah has secrets, too. About where he lives, and how he really feels about Rachel. The last thing he needs is to get tangled up with a rich girl who wants to slum it on the south side for kicks-no matter how angelic she might look.

But when their shared love of street racing puts both their lives in jeopardy, they have six weeks to come up with a way out. Six weeks to discover just how far they’ll go to save each other.

Why I want to read this book: 

The cover: It’s gorgeous and romantic. I’m completely sucked in and I haven’t even turned a page yet.

I’ve read Katie McGarry’s Pushing the Limits, Dare You To, and Crossing the Line. The writing is fantastic. The characters are memorable. I love the entire series. If you haven’t read any of them, I highly recommend that you start with Pushing the Limits.

Here’s my review of Pushing the Limits as posted on Goodreads in September 2012:

Confession – I started reading Pushing the Limits at 11 P.M., and at 4:15 A.M. my husband crawled out of bed wondering what happened to me. (I was snuggled up in a living room chair.) By 4:20, I closed the book, having just finished the last satisfying page. But I couldn’t go to sleep right away. There were just too many things to think about. The way Katie McGarry lets the story unfold along with Echo’s memory of what happened to her the night she almost died, becomes an intriguing mystery. Enter Noah onto the scene, a young man with plenty of painful experiences that also haunt him, and you’ll find yourself unable to put this novel down.
Echo’s parents, step-mother, friends, and social worker each bring insight to the struggle Echo is forced to deal with, giving an overall picture that helps add to the mystery. Your heart will ache. You’ll want to comfort her, shake her father, tell her fake friends to go to hell, and tell her she’s beautiful, scars and all.
And as Echo’s story unfolds, so does Noah’s. His story is told in alternate chapters to Echo’s. Seeing them intersect is absolutely fantastic. With Noah, you become a witness to his pain, wish it could have a happy ending, and want to report the foster parents who hurt him to the authorities. You may even want to become his foster parent/sister/brother. 😀 Noah wears a lot of his pain with his badass attitude, but Echo shows him a genuine love he’s been sorely missing and craves. Without a doubt, you will root for them!

Fans of Simone Elkeles, Jennifer Echols, Huntley Fitzpatrick will embrace this novel with open arms. But I warn you, you won’t be able to stop reading. If you don’t mind walking around like a satisfied zombie the next day, start the book right before bedtime. 😀
Highly recommend that you add this novel to your list if you’re a fan of contemporary YA romance novels.

 

 


2 Responses  
Hannah @ The Irish Banana Review writes:
August 22nd, 2013 at 10:24 am

It’s good.

No, it’s amazing.

No! Wait! It’s EPIC.

Dude, it’s *Isaiah*. And it’s so, so good. I loved every second. Including the teaser for the next book. 🙂 I could live in Katie’s world forever.

Liza Wiemer writes:
August 22nd, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Hannah, you only added fuel to the fire, babe! Love your comment. You are the BEST! Can’t wait to read it.

Leave a Reply

»  Substance: WordPress   »  Style: Ahren Ahimsa
© Copyright 2020 Liza Wiemer