»
S
I
D
E
B
A
R
«
Blog Tour: HELLO, SUNSHINE by Leila Howland – Review & #Giveaway – Nantucket Summer
Jul 10th, 2017 by Liza Wiemer

image001

Review of HELLO, SUNSHINE

& Giveaway for Nantucket Summer

If the Movie La La Land was a Young Adult Novel

Hello, SunshineHello, Sunshine High Res

by Leila Howland

Publisher: Hyperion

Publication Date: July 11th, 2017

 

Praise for Howland’s Nantucket Blue:

“When it comes to indulgent beach reading, sometimes it’s more fun to get pushed over by a wave than to stay safely on your towel.”

The New York Times

“Sand, secrets, Nantucket Reds, and romance. A fresh, feel-good debut.”

   —The Boston Globe

About HELLO, SUNSHINE

With a relatable heroine, diverse cast of characters, and an aspirational story, in HELLO, SUNSHINE (Hyperion | On Sale July 11, 2017) the author of the Nantucket duology, Leila Howland, takes readers on a journey based on her own experience moving to a big city to pursue her dreams of acting. An ode to Los Angeles, this grounding, sarcastic, and relatable story chronicles one girl’s struggle to be brave while pursuing a dream, and makes for the perfect summer read.

Becca Harrington is a reject. After being rebuffed by every college on her list, she needs a fresh start, so she packs up everything and moves to LA, giving herself one year to land an acting gig. Unfortunately, after a few grueling months, LA is looking like the worst idea ever. Becca can’t land an agent, she’s running out of cash, and her mom is hounding her to apply to more schools.

In an act of desperation, Becca and her friend Marisol start posting short videos online—with the help of their adorable filmmaker neighbor, Raj—and the videos catch the attention of a TV producer. Could this be her big break? Or will she have to move back home with nothing but some bad head shots and a monstrous credit-card bill?

Readers will love every page of HELLO, SUNSHINE, a funny, romantic, and aspirational novel about a girl who just wants to make it on her own.

About Leila Howland:Leila Howland Author Photo

A graduate of Georgetown University, LEILA HOWLAND spent five years acting in New York in everything from an MTV public service announcement for safe sex to a John Guare play at Lincoln Center, and was a proud company member of the award-winning Flea Theater in Tribeca. Currently, she is a school librarian in Los Angeles, where she lives with her family. Visit her online at leilahowland.com or on Twitter @leilahowland.

 

REVIEW:

Hello, SunshineHello, Sunshine by Leila Howland

Hello, Sunshine is a book for young adults who have dreams and are afraid to go after them. It’s a book for those who have experienced…

heartbreak,

betrayal,

hard knocks,

friendships lost

and friendships found.

It’s a book for those who have struggled to cut those apron strings from Mom.

This is a novel for those who have had to work hard and long hours without getting paid.

It’s a book about

relationships,

sex,

love,

fighting self-doubts,

finding your inner strength to go after what you want, even after you’ve lost everything but a kernel of hope.

It’s a novel about making mistakes, keeping secrets, making choices—some of them not good at all and living with them.

It’s filled with Hollywood dreams and Hollywood drama.

This was a fast read for me. I finished it in one sitting. For those who are looking for and have been craving a young adult novel that opens the window to what can happen after high school, this is an outstanding novel.

Do I recommend it? Yes! I absolutely do! Maybe, just maybe your alternative (college) post-high school dreams could come true?

Tour Schedule:

Week One

Monday, July 10th: Who R U, Review

Tuesday, July 11th: Page Turners, Ode to LA Guest Post

Wednesday, July 12th: The Lovely Books, Review

Thursday, July 13th: YA Books Central, Playlist Post

Friday, July 14th: Fiktshun, Review

 

Week Two

Monday, July 17th: Ex Libris, Review

Tuesday, July 18th: Such a Novel Idea, Author Post

Wednesday, July 19th: Book Crushin’, Review

Thursday, July 20th: Across the Words, Dream Casting Post

Friday, July 21st: The Reading Nook Reviews, Spotlight Post

 

Nantucket Summer

[Nantucket Blue and Nantucket Red together!]

By Leila Howland

Published by Disney-Hyperion

Pub. Date: 4/25/2017 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spend two intoxicating summers on Nantucket with the spunky Cricket Thompson in this bind-up of Leila Howland’s poignant and romantic Nantucket Blue and its sequel, Nantucket Red.

NEW FORMAT: Just in time for Leila Howland’s new young adult novel, Hello, Sunshine, readers will be able to kick back and read her first two books straight through.

GREAT REVIEWS: This delicious duology received impressive critical acclaim, and Nantucket Blue landed on multiple “Best of” lists, including the Bank Street Best Children’s Book of the Year and the IRA/CBC Young Adults’ Choice lists.

A BEACH READ FOR THE THINKING GIRL: These novels have a satisfying blend of commercial and literary elements that will appeal to readers of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen.

NANTUCKET SETTING: The famously beautiful seaside community is the perfect backdrop for these wistful, coming-of-age love stories.

 

Follow the exploits of Cricket Thompson as she explores the alluring island of Nantucket and faces the unexpected in this collection of Leila Howland’s first two novels.

Nantucket Blue

For Cricket, a summer on Nantucket with her best friend Jules is a life-changing dream come true. That is, until Jules and her family suffer a devastating tragedy, and Jules becomes a stranger. And instead of lying on the beach working on her tan, Cricket is making beds and cleaning bathrooms to support herself in paradise. But it’s the things she hadn’t counted on—most of all, falling hard for someone who should be completely off-limits—that turn her dreams into an exhilarating, bittersweet reality.

Nantucket Red

Cricket is headed to Brown University in the fall, but to help pay for her living expenses, she returns to work on Nantucket for the summer, where she finds challenges she hadn’t anticipated. As her world opens up in new ways, Cricket questions the future she’s been working toward her whole life. With the pull of a love triangle complicating everything, she’ll have to learn that success isn’t just about reaching goals, but also about listening to what she’s been trying to ignore—her own heart.

Praise for Nantucket Blue

“[Howland] evokes the Nantucket setting vividly . . . when it comes to indulgent beach reading, sometimes it’s more fun to get pushed over by a wave than to stay safely on your towel.”

—The New York Times

“Sand, secrets, Nantucket Reds, and romance. A fresh, feel-good debut.” —The Boston Globe

*”Readers should feel empowered by Cricket’s efforts to grow up into a strong, honest, and emotionally intelligent young woman, even as they are enchanted by the romantic and exclusive island setting. This is a natural beach read, but will easily win Howland year-round fans, too.”

—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Fans of Sarah Dessen will find much to like here, as the charm of this summery yarn lies in Cricket’s open appeal.”

—Library Journal

“[Cricket’s] story is told in a way that is both engaging and alluring. Definitely a standout novel in its genre.”

—School Library Journal

Praise for Nantucket Red

“Enjoyable and introspective, this is more than just a summer beach read.”

—Kirkus Reviews

“In this novel about finding oneself and following your heart, Howland creates a character that readers will be cheering for from beginning to end.”

—VOYA

“Nantucket Red is an engaging continuation of Cricket’s story, and its pace is perfect for a long weekend or beach read.”

—School Library Journal

 

Praise for Nantucket Blue

“[Howland] evokes the Nantucket setting vividly . . . when it comes to indulgent beach reading, sometimes it’s more fun to get pushed over by a wave than to stay safely on your towel.”

—The New York Times

*”Readers should feel empowered by Cricket’s efforts to grow up into a strong, honest, and emotionally intelligent young woman, even as they are enchanted by the romantic and exclusive island setting. This is a natural beach read, but will easily win Howland year-round fans, too.”

—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Fans of Sarah Dessen will find much to like here, as the charm of this summery yarn lies in Cricket’s open appeal. Readers will root for her as she falls down, takes her lumps, and moves forward to her final year in high school, always remembering what she learned under the Nantucket sun.”

—Library Journal

“Several elements in this novel make it a little more than just another summer romance. Cricket’s struggle to define herself apart from Jules, her decision to follow her heart, and her realization that she can rise above her parents’ divorce make this a story that many teens will find absorbing.”

—VOYA

“Sand, secrets, Nantucket Reds, and romance. A fresh, feel-good debut.”

—The Boston Globe

“A rich, satisfying novel.” —Providence Journal

“Utterly romantic and fun. I didn’t want Nantucket Blue to end.”

—New York Times best-selling author Jenny Han

“Just like the moonlit shores of the island where it is set, Nantucket Blue casts a spell that will make you hope the summer never ends.”

—Elin Hilderbrand, author of Beautiful Day

Praise for Nantucket Red

“Enjoyable and introspective, this is more than just a summer beach read.” —Kirkus

“In this novel about finding oneself and following your heart, Howland creates a character that readers will be cheering for from beginning to end.”

—VOYA

Excerpts

I looked up; he was so close. Our cheeks touched.

“You are just . . .” he said into my ear. My eyes closed, eyelashes like matches striking my cheeks, setting them on fire. He kissed me, long and sweet, on the mouth.

“Just what?” I asked when we came up for air, stunned, heart stomping like a parade, wrists aching from holding the oars.

He seemed unable to finish his sentence with words. He pulled the wet oars inside the boat, wrapped his arms around me and kissed me again.

 

»  Substance: WordPress   »  Style: Ahren Ahimsa
© Copyright 2012 Liza Wiemer