»
S
I
D
E
B
A
R
«
Blog Tour: BREAKING THE RULES by Katie McGarry – Guest Post – Behind the Character’s Names & Giveaway
Dec 10th, 2014 by Liza Wiemer

BTR_BannerH

BEHIND THE CHARACTER NAMES

By Katie McGarry

Names for me, in books, are important.

When I was first writing Pushing the Limits, Echo’s name was originally Sarah.

I love the name Sarah. Depending upon where you look, the name Sarah means princess or lady. I’ve also seen that it can mean happy. Sarah’s a great name, but it wasn’t working for the character I was writing—it wasn’t working for who we’ve come to know as Echo.

I was looking at the naming of my character wrong. I was trying to name her, when it was my character’s mother who would named her and that person was obsessed with Greek mythology.

I poured through the Greek myths, attempting to find the perfect name for my main character and when I came across the myth for Echo, I knew I had found her name.

Echo was a wood nymph who was cursed to lose her own voice and only repeat what others said as a punishment. If that wasn’t bad enough, she fell in love with a guy who was so self-absorbed that he never noticed her. She was so heartbroken that her physical body faded away into nothing, leaving behind her voice that is doomed to repeat what everyone else said.

To me, Echo was the girl who lost her voice. I’m very proud that Echo found her voice at the end of Pushing the Limits.

In Breaking the Rules, Echo has to work to maintain that voice that she had lost and then rediscovered. She has to forge her path in a very cruel world, but she also has to deal with something she’s never allowed herself to face—her grief over the loss of her brother Aires.

There are two major revelations in Breaking the Rules and both of them involve names. Once you read Breaking the Rules, you’ll find out why I gave Noah and Aires their names and you’ll also learn how deeply those names are involved in Echo and Noah’s story.

About Breaking the Rules:

About Katie McGarry:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | HarlequinTEEN website

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Katie was a teenager during the age of grunge and boy bands and remembers those years as the best and worst of her life. She is a lover of music, happy endings, reality television, and is a secret University of Kentucky basketball fan.

Katie is the author of the full-length Young Adult novels PUSHING THE LIMITS and DARE YOU TO, and the e-novella CROSSING THE LINE. Her debut novel, PUSHING THE LIMITS, is a 2012 Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction and an RT Book Reviews 2012 Reviewer’s Choice Awards Nominee for Young Adult Contemporary Novel.

Writing has given Katie an excuse to pursue her passions. Research for her books has provided her with the amazing opportunity to train with baseball players, ride along in a drag car at ninety-six miles per hour and experience boxing and mixed martial arts. The most memorable moments for Katie are when she speaks to groups of teenagers about her research, writing and the truth that no dream is out of reach. Katie would love to hear from her readers.

Contact her via her website, katielmcgarry.com, at Twitter @KatieMcGarry, or become a fan on Facebook and Goodreads.

Novels by Katie McGarry:

Tour Schedule:

Giveaway:

BTR_Giveaway

  • Four lucky winners will each receive ONE signed copy of Katie’s print books: Pushing the Limits, Dare You To, Crash Into You and Take Me On
  • One grand prize winner will receive a $100 gift card to Amazon, B&N or iTunes as well as a zodiac necklace.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Waiting on Wednesday (14): CRASH INTO YOU by Katie McGarry
Aug 21st, 2013 by Liza Wiemer

Waiting on Wednesday (14):

17233800CRASH INTO YOU (Pushing the Limits #3)

by Katie McGarry

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Pub. Date:  November 26, 2013

Pages: 474

 

From Goodreads:

From acclaimed author Katie McGarry comes an explosive new tale of a good girl with a reckless Katie McGarrystreak, a street-smart guy with nothing to lose, and a romance forged in the fast lane

The girl with straight As, designer clothes and the perfect life-that’s who people expect Rachel Young to be. So the private-school junior keeps secrets from her wealthy parents and overbearing brothers…and she’s just added two more to the list. One involves racing strangers down dark country roads in her Mustang GT. The other? Seventeen-year-old Isaiah Walker-a guy she has no business even talking to. But when the foster kid with the tattoos and intense gray eyes comes to her rescue, she can’t get him out of her mind.

Isaiah has secrets, too. About where he lives, and how he really feels about Rachel. The last thing he needs is to get tangled up with a rich girl who wants to slum it on the south side for kicks-no matter how angelic she might look.

But when their shared love of street racing puts both their lives in jeopardy, they have six weeks to come up with a way out. Six weeks to discover just how far they’ll go to save each other.

Why I want to read this book: 

The cover: It’s gorgeous and romantic. I’m completely sucked in and I haven’t even turned a page yet.

I’ve read Katie McGarry’s Pushing the Limits, Dare You To, and Crossing the Line. The writing is fantastic. The characters are memorable. I love the entire series. If you haven’t read any of them, I highly recommend that you start with Pushing the Limits.

Here’s my review of Pushing the Limits as posted on Goodreads in September 2012:

Confession – I started reading Pushing the Limits at 11 P.M., and at 4:15 A.M. my husband crawled out of bed wondering what happened to me. (I was snuggled up in a living room chair.) By 4:20, I closed the book, having just finished the last satisfying page. But I couldn’t go to sleep right away. There were just too many things to think about. The way Katie McGarry lets the story unfold along with Echo’s memory of what happened to her the night she almost died, becomes an intriguing mystery. Enter Noah onto the scene, a young man with plenty of painful experiences that also haunt him, and you’ll find yourself unable to put this novel down.
Echo’s parents, step-mother, friends, and social worker each bring insight to the struggle Echo is forced to deal with, giving an overall picture that helps add to the mystery. Your heart will ache. You’ll want to comfort her, shake her father, tell her fake friends to go to hell, and tell her she’s beautiful, scars and all.
And as Echo’s story unfolds, so does Noah’s. His story is told in alternate chapters to Echo’s. Seeing them intersect is absolutely fantastic. With Noah, you become a witness to his pain, wish it could have a happy ending, and want to report the foster parents who hurt him to the authorities. You may even want to become his foster parent/sister/brother. 😀 Noah wears a lot of his pain with his badass attitude, but Echo shows him a genuine love he’s been sorely missing and craves. Without a doubt, you will root for them!

Fans of Simone Elkeles, Jennifer Echols, Huntley Fitzpatrick will embrace this novel with open arms. But I warn you, you won’t be able to stop reading. If you don’t mind walking around like a satisfied zombie the next day, start the book right before bedtime. 😀
Highly recommend that you add this novel to your list if you’re a fan of contemporary YA romance novels.

 

 

»  Substance: WordPress   »  Style: Ahren Ahimsa
© Copyright 2020 Liza Wiemer